Established: May 9, 1958

Purposed/Mission Statement:  To honor and remember the accomplishments of the late Pastor, Reverend James H. Saunders, Second Pastor of the Bethany Missionary Baptist Church, the James H. Saunders Memorial Ministry was established.

Scripture: Hebrews 13:16 “But to do good and to communicate forget not: for with such sacrifices God is well pleased”

Meeting Day:  The James H. Saunders Memorial Ministry meets on an as needed basis


The club held its installation on a Thursday evening at4238 Wallace StreetBethanysite.  The Reverend W. H. Lemon, Pastor of First Baptist Church of Paschall, was the guest speaker.  Other ministers who participated in the installation service were the Reverends James Preston, Richard T. Turner, Sr., Jamison White, Elijah Ridley, Paul Jackson and the Reverend Mother E. Preston.

 The club helps us keep the memory of our deceased members ever before us, therein enabling us (1) to remember the Christian struggle that they fought and won; (2) to sustain and maintain that Christian love in this present day, and (3) to look forward with peace and contentment to our future both here on earth and in our eternal resting place.  Mrs. Estelle D. Shackleford was the first President, serving in that position until her death.  She was followed by Mrs. Mattie Lucas, and later by Mrs. Frances Carter, the current President.  This ministry is always looking for others members to join and help keep our history alive through the generations to come.